2354 NY State Route 434 Apalachin, NY 13732 607.687.0123

Building, Planning & Zoning

x Tire Cleanup Flyer 2021 

x Revised Town of Owego Emergency Plan – 2/2/2016 – Click here to view 

x Hyper-Reach can be accessed on the Tioga County Website and you can be contacted in an emergency www.tiogacountyny.com.  See Hyper-Reach direction at the end of the Town’s emergency plan

Building, Planning & Zoning Department Information

  • Office Hours: Monday – Friday: 8:00AM to 4:30PM
  •  Phone: (607) 687-0123 Dept #6
  • Fax: (607) 687-2507


The Planning and Zoning Department is responsible to uphold regulations for the use and development of land according to laws established by the State and Federal governments as well as the subdivision code and zoning chapter of the Town Code.  Residents of the Town should contact us for applications and assistance when planning to establish a business, to construct a building, or to make a change to their property.  We will advise you of applicable laws and specific zoning regulations, review your plans, issue any required permits and inspect your projects to ensure they are in compliance with the laws.  We enforce laws which apply to junk vehicles and property maintenance.  The Planning and Zoning Administrator is also the Flood Plain Administrator.  Flood maps for the Town of Owego are maintained in this department. This department keeps records concerning the planning and development activities within the Town and provides staff support to the Zoning Board of Appeals, the Planning Board and the Town Board in carrying out land use, planning and zoning functions of the Town.

Click Here for Building Permit Information

Zoning Board of Appeals

The Zoning Board of Appeals is a five member board, whose members serve by appointment of the Town Board.  Each member serves a five year term, with one member’s term expiring December 31st of each year.  Meetings are regularly scheduled for the first Thursday of each month at 7:00 PM and are open to the public.

The Zoning Board of Appeals has the authority to grant Special Use Permits, Area and Use Variances as well as make interpretations of the Town’s zoning regulations, which are contained in Chapter 125 of the Code of the Town of Owego.

Click Here for the Zoning Board of Appeals Agenda

Zoning Board of Appeals Members

Gary Phelps – Chairman
David Kresge
Jack Legg
Dan Myers
Janet Brown
Irene Graven – Attorney
Linda Bailey – Secretary

Planning Board

The Planning Board is a seven member board appointed by the Town Board.  Each member serves a seven year term, with one member’s term expiring December 31st of each year.  Meetings are regularly scheduled for the fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:00 PM and are open to the public.

The Planning Board considers requests for site plan approval and special permits for extraction of natural products (mining) and telecommunications facilities.  They also make recommendations to the Town Board for rezoning requests and special permits, as well as to the Zoning Board of Appeals for Special Use Permits.

Click Here for the Planning Board Agenda

Planning Board Members

Robert Rieg – Chairman
David Marsh
James Tofte
Lynne Esquivel
Craig Wademan
Lisa Baileys
Leah Hammond
Irene Graven – Attorney
Linda Bailey – Secretary

Planning & Zoning Admin:  Joann Lindstrom

Code Enforcement & Building Inspector:  Ron Schmidt

Comprehensive Plan

The following four parts are downloadable PDF files and are between 5mb-6mb in size each.

Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 |Part 4

The Town of Owego’s zoning map is available at this link: Tioga County Geographic Information Tool (arcgis.com) under “Tioga County Geographic Information Tool”. In the top right corner of this map is an icon for “Layer List”. Click here, then scroll to the bottom of the list and click on “Town of Owego Zoning Districts”.

Printed zoning maps are available for $25 through the Planning and Zoning Department.


Kennel VS Purebred Licenses
Subdivision of Lands – Chapter 103
Telecommunications Facilities Chapter 107
Zoning Regulations 2019

What Is Stormwater?

Stormwater is rain and snow melt that runs off surfaces such as rooftops, paved streets, highways, and parking lots. Stormwater carries sediment, oil, grease, nitrogen, phosphorus, and other pollutants into storm drains and then, untreated, into nearby waterbodies. Because most stormwater drainage systems provide no treatment, preventing contamination of stormwater is crucial to ensure that pollutants do not enter waterways. Improperly managed stormwater runoff is also a leading cause of flooding, which can lead to property damage, cause road safety hazards, and clog catch basins and culverts with sediment and debris.

Broome-Tioga Stormwater Coalition

Broome-Tioga Stormwater Annual Reports

The Town of Owego is one of 15 designated Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s) located in the Counties of Broome and Tioga that must prepare and implement a stormwater management program to comply with state and federal stormwater regulations.  These municipalities recognize that watersheds and separate sewer systems cross municipal boundaries and that collaborative efforts addressing local stormwater issues saves time, money and energy.  As a result, the MS4s entered into an agreement to form the Broome-Tioga Stormwater Coalition and work together to address local stormwater issues and meet the requirements of state and federal stormwater regulations.

To find out more information about stormwater, state and federal stormwater regulations or the Broome-Tioga Stormwater Coalition, visit the BTSC’s website.

Broome-Tioga Stormwater Coalition Public Education Website   http://www.waterfromrain.org/

Click here to view the Chapter 99 Stormwater Management